“Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones…”

Even my short tenure, thus far, at NewsReal Blog has confirmed how right I was to join the Republican Party. I did so in the hope of helping the GOP clean house. The comments my posts have received from the howling statist mob make clear just how urgently a housecleaning is needed.

They are strangely fixated on what has been the least-important detail of my posts: the fact that I am gay. Some don’t seem capable of getting past it at all, and even those who try are unable to resist making comments such as those urging me to read “City of God” — if not for the moral teachings (in which this sad soul is certain I would be uninterested) then for the civics lesson it might give me.

As a matter of fact, I read “City of God” nearly two decades ago. I have since written a book of my own based upon it. I am now in the process of polishing up “Ghetto of God” — an account of one woman’s experience in the gay ghetto of the City — and preparing it for publication.

My mother used to advise me to ignore such people. “Sticks and stones may break my bones,” she would tell me. She would also add, “Consider the source.”

I do consider the source. And it is not impressive. Those who comment negatively on my work almost always remain anonymous, and make their attacks from the safety of cyberspace. There are a great many good things about the Internet, but it certainly has allowed cowardice to flourish.

Statists both Left and Right want to shut up anyone with whom they disagree. They aren’t going to shut me up.

The narrow, stereotypical, pathetically-limited thinking of those who make such drive-by comments only underscores the need for the political Right in general, and the Republican Party in particular, to take out the trash. A very thorough housecleaning is indeed long overdue. I intend to do all I can to help in this endeavor.

There are a great many people who would make excellent conservatives, but who are kept outside because people like my critics want them outside. Unable to trust their own ideas even enough to stand seeing them debated, they try to keep their movement, and their party, an exclusive little club.

This only ensures that more Leftists will be elected. It only keeps people whose views are actually quite conservative from thinking that a better home awaits them on the Right and in the GOP.

With every halfwit comment of the sort I often get from “conservatives,” each of these fools ensures that his or her next vote will be canceled out by someone else’s.

I have no intention of shutting up. I have only begun to fight.

About heine911

I'm an Episcopalian, Classical Liberal Ladies' Woman, helping to save Western civilization, searching for the perfect wife and enjoying every minute of it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones…”

  1. vinnie124 says:

    If more conservatives like you spoke up, it would be a unifying agent, rather than dividing politics most social conservatives play.

Leave a Reply

